User Guide – Windows

Userguide Available! The EncryptStick Userguide is now available for download. You can get it by clicking here!

(Click on a topic for details)

≈ Insert a USB Flash drive into your computer and connect to the internet;

≈ Open your web browser and go to http://encryptstick.com/download;

≈ Download the Windows version;

≈ Double click the installer to start the installation process;

≈ The initial setup screen is shown: Click “Next” to continue;

≈ The License Agreement is shown: Select “I agree” and click next;

≈ Select Installation Folder; (It is recommended that you keep the default path and settings) Click “Next”to continue;

≈ Confirm the Installation and click “Next”to start the install;
≈ When the installation is complete, click “Next”;

≈ The installation dialog will display; select “Launch EncryptStick” and click the “Close” button;

≈ EncryptStick™ will launch and check for any connected USB drives;

≈ When the application discovers a connected flash drive, the image below will display;

≈ Click “Yes” to register the flash drive; the EncryptStick Welcome dialog is shown;

≈ To install the free Trial version, click “Activate your license now”;

≈ The USB selection dialog will open and show all connected USB flash drives;

≈ Click on the drive you want to register and click “Next”;

≈ To activate the full version of EncryptStick™ enter your 25-digit serial code;

≈ Click “Next” to proceed to the Password entry screen

≈ On the Password Entry screen create your password and confirm your entry by re-typing; (Do not copy and paste)

≈ On this page, an evaluator indicates the strength of your proposed password against preset criteria;

≈ Change the content of your password or untick criteria boxes as required in order to create a match;

≈ When your password and the evaluation criteria match, click ‘Next” to adopt the password;

≈ Click Finish to complete the installation;

≈ The EncryptStick main application will start;

≈ In case you use EncryptStick before and have a backup of your old data of the present flash drive, or another drive, you can use the “Restore Flash data option to restore this data. For this tutorial we will assume that this is the first time that you setup Encrypt Stick. Click Continue.
≈ Your setup and device registration is now completed and the application main window is shown.

How to Synchronize Files Across Devices
≈ Select a vault;≈ Right click on the vault and select “Add Sync Peer” on the menu;

≈ Choose a folder on your computer to be synchronized with the vault; Click “Open”

≈ The files in the vault and in the folder on the computer will now synchronize;

≈ A synchronization window will open showing the synchronization progress; When finished, click “Close”;

sync-installatie

Note:This synchronization process can also be completed using the menu bar: on the Menu bar select “Tools”, and perform the above steps;

sync2

Synchronization change indicator

≈ If any files have been changed, added or deleted a red dot is displayed on the “Synchronize” icon indicating the number of files to be synchronized;

≈ Select a vault and click on the synchronization button; (Or by using the Menu, click on “Tools”, then click on “Synchronization;)

Please note that if files have been deleted in either the sync peer or in the vault after a synchronization the files will disappear!

Options to Display Vault as Drive letter or Favorites Folder
A vault can be mounted to appear (on your Host computer only) as either a Drive letter or a Favorites Folder within explorer. This option setting will not affect how your vaults appear on any guest computer.Choose your setting by following these steps:

≈ Click on “Tools” in the menu bar and select “options”;

≈ On the Options screen select the tab “Locations”;
≈ Three mount options will display: “None”, “Favorites Folder”, or “Drive letter”;

≈ If you select the “Favorites Folder” option, a folder called “EncryptStick” will appear; click on the folder to display your vaults;


≈ If you select the “Drive Letter” option, the drive letter appears as “Vault_Name (G:)”; Note: for our purposes “G:” represents the next drive letter available on your computer; Click “OK” to accept;

≈ For security reasons, your vault setting only appears when the EncryptStick™ application is running; if the program is locked, a Drive letter or Favorites folder will not appear;

Select Backup location

≈ Click on “Tools” in the menu bar and select “options”.

≈ Select within the Options screen the tab “Locations”.

≈ You can choose 2 different locations. Within the Application Data or My Documents

≈ Select “Ok”

Make a Backup

≈ Click on “Tools” in the menu bar and select “Backup Vault Data”. As a default all vault(s) are selected to appear in the backup. Deselect a vault by clicking on a checkmark.

≈ Select “Backup”.

≈ Wait till the Backup is finalized.

Keep number of Backups

≈ Click on “Tools” in the menu bar and select “options”.

≈ Select within the Options screen the tab “Locations”.

≈ Checkmark “Enable automatic backup retention”.

≈ Select the number of Backups you want to keep, last and previous versions.

≈ Select “Ok”

To Select Encryption level for a new vault:

≈ Click on “Tools” in the menu bar and select “options”.

≈ Click on the Options menu and select the “Encryption” tab;

≈ Choose preferred encryption strength from the options shown; click “OK”


The encryption strength selected for this vault will be enforced for each new vault, until a different encryption option is assigned.

Important Note: Changing the encryption level already assigned to a vault will not change the encryption applied to files already stored in that vault. Those files must be decrypted and encrypted again after the new encryption method is assigned to the vault.

Versioning is an advanced back-up option. By updating your versioning, if indicated by a red dot, you will keep up to the last 5 versions of your documents. To make versioning work you have to make first a back-up.
1 – Menu option Tools and Backup Vault Data
2 – Follow instructions
If any files have been changed a red dot is displayed on the “Versioning” icon indicating the number of files to backup;
If you want to roll back to a previous version of a file you have to highlight the file. Right click with your mouse and choose previous versions
– Select a vault and click on the versioning button